Decision details

Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: No


The Council considered the report of the Leader of the Council on the membership of the Cabinet.


It was moved by Councillor Ian Maher, seconded by Councillor Grace and





(1)              it be noted that Councillor Fairclough has been appointed as the Deputy Leader of the Council for a four-year term of office until the Adjourned Annual Council meeting in May 2027 or until such time as his term of office expires; and


(2)              it be noted that the Cabinet comprising of the Members indicated below will hold office until the Leaders term of office expires, unless removed by the Leader or for any of the reasons set out in Paragraph 4 (a) to (c) of Chapter 5 in the Constitution.

Cabinet (10)




Leader of the Council

Councillor Ian Maher

Cabinet Member - Adult Social Care

Councillor Cummins

Cabinet Member - Children’s Social Care

Councillor Doyle

Cabinet Member - Communities and Housing

Councillor Hardy

Cabinet Member - Education

Councillor Roscoe

Cabinet Member - Health and Wellbeing

Councillor Moncur

Cabinet Member - Locality Services

(and Deputy Leader)

Councillor Fairclough

Cabinet Member - Planning and Building Control

Councillor Veidman

Cabinet Member - Regeneration and Skills

Councillor Atkinson

Cabinet Member - Regulatory, Compliance and Corporate Services

Councillor Lappin


Publication date: 23/05/2023

Date of decision: 18/05/2023

Decided at meeting: 18/05/2023 - Council

Accompanying Documents: